The New England Women’s Golf Association (NEWGA) was established on November 13, 1956 at the Country Club (CC) of Brookline, MA with the desire to form a women’s New England amateur championship. Like all such programs, NEWGA needed a sparkplug and this was Chris Eaton of Massachusetts. Chris contacted each association in six New England states and made plans for each state’s president and a representative to meet at the CC of Brookline MA.

Membership was established with representatives from each of the six New England States. The New England Women’s Golf Association is limited to the following associations:

  • The Connecticut Women’s Golf Association
  • The Women’s Maine State Golf Association
  • The Women’s Golf Association of Massachusetts
  • The New Hampshire Women’s Golf Association
  • The Rhode Island Women’s Golf Association
  • The Vermont State Women’s Golf Association

The purpose of this association is to promote interest in the game of golf and to conduct a championship annually. The first championship was held in 1957 at Wampanoag Country Club, West Hartford Connecticut. Since then, the tournament sites have continued to rotate in alphabetical order by state.

NEWGA continues to host a yearly championship of talented amateur golfers and the opportunity for women golfers to get to know fellow competitors from different states.

Recent Champions

Year Course Champion Score Runner Up Score
2018 The Woodlands Club, ME Shannon Johnson 214 Hannah Ghelfi 219
2017 Hop Meadow CC, CT Jacquelyn Eleey 225 Hannah Ghelfi 228
2016 Country Club of Vermont, VT Katie Barrand 217 Susan Cavanagh 219
2015 Ledgemont CC, MA Nathalie Filler 216 Jacquelyn Eleey 217
2014 Keene CC, NH Dana Harrity 216 Tara Joy Connolly 217

View all NEWGA Champions